Review: Sephora Skin Bender Vol. 1

Hello everyone! I am so sorry I have not made a blog post in over a month due to exams and finals and all that boring University garbage. But I have spent quite a chunk of change on Sephora’s website due to procrastination and boredom between exams. My credit card isn’t happy but I’m loving the products I got!

This is one product I was really excited to try. It’s a Sephora Favourites set featuring 10 deluxe samples of skincare products. I don’t usually spend a lot of money on skincare because in order to shell out that amount of money for one item, I like to try it first and not only rely on beauty gurus and reviews’ opinions. This set is perfect because you get to try a lot of different products and the sample sizes are very good sizes! The set was $56 Canadian ($48 US) but I do believe it just went on sale at Sephora (which bummed me out because I had ordered it about a week prior). I have not used every product in this set yet but I’ll give you a review on the ones I have tried.

photo 1 (17)

The only product I used previous to this set was the Josie Maran Argan Oil. I actually had the bottle that was this size previous and I haven’t finished that one yet, so now I have two! I do like this oil a lot. I only use it on my face (but you can use it anywhere on your body and even your hair!) which is why I still have some in my old bottle. I don’t find myself using it everyday but that was only because I was trying to prolong its use before having to buy another one. This oil works best overnight on days where my skin is feeling extra dry and tight. It doesn’t make your skin greasy at all and it looks really nice in the morning.

photo 2 (16)

The Ultra Repair Cream by First Aid Beauty is one that I was interested in trying and one of the reasons I splurged on the set. I really like it for my face as a daily moisturizer. It’s not too greasy and dries quickly, making it a good base before primers and foundations. It looks thick when you get it out of the bottle but I think it is really perfect consistency for the face. I could definitely see myself purchasing this after I use up the sample.

The Korres Greek Yogurt Advanced Nourishing Sleeping Facial was another reason I wanted this set. I’ve seen YouTubers talk about this but I was skeptical because the price is about $56 Canadian. I really like this product. What I love is how nice my face feels and looks in the morning. It feels so hydrating on the skin and really plumps up your face in the AM. The term “sleeping facial” had me imagining a thick cream that you slather on your face in order to really hydrate your skin but this was nothing like my expectations. It looks like a normal moisturizer that you work in to your skin. It leaves no residue and absorbs quickly. The price is steep but this product is wonderful for us dry skin ladies and it will be perfect for the winter monthes.

photo 3 (12)

Today I was just going out for coffee with my friend and decided to try the Peter Thomas Roth CC Cream in the set. I have never used a CC cream before but I knew they were supposed to have a higher coverage than a BB Cream. I can’t compare this to any other CC Cream but I absolutely love this product. The coverage is so amazing; I would say its medium coverage. It really feels great on the skin! Lately, my full coverage foundations have been a bit drying to my face throughout the day but this product really hydrates my skin while making it appear flawless. I was honestly going to give this product to my mom without trying it first, but now I am really happy I didn’t because I LOVE this stuff! One thing I will say is that I did set this with powder but as I am feeling my face right now, it does not feel powdery at all. It gives a dewy finish which is probably due to all the moisturizing properties it has to offer. I am just really surprised at how much I love this stuff after only one day of using it.

photo 4 (7)

 

The last product I want to talk about was not in the set but I did get it as a sample with my order. It’s the Josie Maran Pure Argan Milk Treatment and holy shit this is good. I was impressed with the Korres Facial but I think I like this product a tiny bit more. I put this on at night before I went to bed and it really hydrated by skin. The overall texture was improved as well. I had really dry spots on my nose/cheek area and in the morning, the dryness was gone and it was so smooth to the touch. I would definintely buy this product in the full size but again, it is a pricey one!

Thank you so much for reading this post! I would definitely recommend trying this set if you want to test out a bunch of products that are normally quite expensive on their own!

 

 

Leave a Reply

