Haul: Makeup Brushes and more!

I recently placed an order on FTBbeauty.ca, which is an authorized retailer of Sigma. If you live in Canada, you know how ridiculous shipping is when ordering from the USA. This website is perfect for Canadians because it ships right from Toronto so there are no crazy shipping costs (and it’s quick delivery too!)

I ordered 6 brushes and a lipgloss from the website. They had just gotten Butter Glosses from NYX in stock so I had to pick one up. The one I got is in the colour Eclair. I think when I bought this, I had high expectations because everyone and their dog raves about these lip glosses on YouTube. Don’t get me wrong, I do like the gloss, it just wasn’t AS good as I expected it to be. It’s a teensy bit on the sticky side and the pigmentation is good. Maybe I just don’t like sticky glosses as opposed to smooth ones, oh well! At least the glosses are relatively cheap but I’m still going to try and use it more.

photo 1 (15) photo 3 (10) photo 4 (5) photo 5 (4)

I got two Real Technique brushes: the Powder brush and the Shader brush. The powder brush is so big, which is exactly what I wanted. I was not disapointed with this brush at all, and I just love it for setting my foundation. It is also suuuper soft which is a great bonus. The shading brush is a lot smaller than I expected. But I used it for the first time yesterday and it is really good for packing on colour and the size definitely helps. Honestly, I did not really need this brush but I bought it because I needed to spend like $5 more to get free shipping and this brush was $7. That is still a really good price for the brush. Real Technique brushes are such good quality for a really affordable price.

I got four Sigma Brushes from the website. Most of them, I had been eyeing for a while and debating when to purchase. The F86 is the Tapered Kabuki. Youtubers like Jaclyn Hill and Casey Holmes swear by this brush for blending out their concealer (mostly for blending out MAC Pro Longwear Concealer). I’m on the fence about this brush as of right now. It does blend the concealer but I think I like the Beauty Blender a bit more for this job. Because the Beauty Blender is damp when you use it, it really helps to blend your foundation and concealer together for a more natural look. The brush somewhat makes a harsh line from where my concealer ends and foundation starts. I hope that makes a bit of sense and if not, just ignore it then!

photo 4 (6)

The F35 is the Tapered Highlighter brush. I got this because I FINALLY got MAC Pro Powder in Emphasize (review coming soon!) and wanted this brush specifically for that. I’ve used it for actual cheekbone highlighting as well and it works great for that, but I mainly purchased it for undereye highlighting/setting.

The F05 is the Small Contour brush. I really expected this brush to be a bit different than what it actually is. I thought it would be rounder and more dense. It’s actually a little flimsy and not very structured. You can see in the picture, the bristles are just longer than I expected and it isn’t very dense. It’s alright for contouring. The brush I had before was a black haired flat top kabuki brush that worked well, but it was getting old and I thought this brush could replace it. It is growing on me though. Because it is a little loose/less dense, you can apply the contour and then press the brush down to really blend it out. This brush just wasn’t what I expected it to be.

The E45 is the Small Tapered Blending brush. It reminds me of Sigma’s E30 Pencil brush that decided to have a baby with a blending brush. I actually really like using this on my lower lash line in place of the pencil brush. It buffs out the colour way faster and with less effort. I also saw Youtubers using this brush in their crease for a more defined line which I have not tried yet but that was the main reason I bought it.

Next, I ordered from The Bay, mainly because I wanted the Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation. I’ve seen this more and more on YouTube so I fell into the hype and purchased it. I’m not going to go too in detail because I will probably do a separate blogpost on it. I will say that ordering foundation online is the scariest thing ever because of the different shades. I saw Casey Holmes (or itsbl0ndie) on YouTube and she has 3W1 Tawny and it matched her self tan skin really well. I self tan on occasion and always find it hard to find a matching foundation. So I took a risk and ordered the shade she got, and thank Jesus it matched perfect! The Bay was also having a promotion in which you got a Lilly Pulitzer bag filled with Estee Lauder samples with a $35 purchase (which was my other incentive to order the foundation online).

photo 2 (15)             photo 1 (16)

Hope you guys enjoyed the haul, and thanks so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

