Product I Regret Buying: Stila Smudgepot in Kitten

I bought this product over a year ago, when the colour “Kitten” was being raved about all over YouTube. The juvenile me (who didn’t check reviews before buying products) purchased the creamy version in the pot, as opposed to the powder shadow. I figured I could get more use out of a creamy product like this one.. but boy was I wrong.

photo 1      photo 2

Before this product, I had been familiar with MAC Paintpots and Benefit’s Creaseless Cream Shadow. I was expecting this to be similar to those in formula which it was not. This formula was much more dry than creamy. This made it difficult to blend or create a smooth application. As you can see in the picture below, the application is anything but smooth and is patchy. It looks even worse on the eye.

photo 3        photo 4

I tried every once in a while to work with this product. I tried to layer powder shadows over this, using the smudgepot as a base, but that failed as well. I’ve given up on this product and can’t believe I used precious money to spend on this. The product retails for $26 on Sephora’s website. Hopefully, you don’t make the same mistake I did with the product. If you love the shade, go buy the powder shadow version of Kitten or even Maybelline’s Color Tattoos in the shade Barely Branded. That would be a perfect dupe for this with 100% better quality. This shadow is going straight into the garbage (so obviously I had to take a picture of that.)

photo 5

2 thoughts on “Product I Regret Buying: Stila Smudgepot in Kitten

Leave a Reply

